Day 78: Continued frustration in the QT


The DT tests all read stellar:

  • 0 ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, phosphate (will stop testing for NH4+, NO2- until add fish).
  • temp before lights on at 78 (will add heater to sump again to prevent this swing).
  • pH 8.0
  • salinity elevated above norm at 1.027 (unknown why this swing happened over the last week?)
  • calcium high (one cap of supplement last week) at 520mg/L
  • dKH level at 9

QT water quality again looks abysmal.  I had good readings last week, but I apparently need to test more often.

  • Temp 78 (before lights on)
  • pH 8.0
  • salinity slightly elevated 1.011
  • NH4+ at .50ppm
  • NO3- at 10ppm

Did a 30% wc on the QT with water from the DT diluted with RODI to hypo – concerned about temperature change so I didn’t want to go much more.  Will continue with one gallon changes daily for a while.  Will have to test daily or every other day.  Added AmQuel per directions.

Again, this is reinforcing that the QT needs to be at DT salinity and for observation, not treatment only.  The water change could have been quick and simple at temp with no stress to the fish.  I’m very tempted to abandoned hypo early and return to normal salinity and implement the new observation only policy immediately.

I’m also tempted to make a big order of fish and introduce all to DT rather than even observe – yet that might make problems with the DT biofilter to add all that at once…  It’s all moot anyway, need to wait until September for $$ anyway.

 

6 thoughts on “Day 78: Continued frustration in the QT

    • I like your style!! Yea, once I get through this firefish I have left in QT I’ll see what is in at the LFS… I don’t know what though. I’ll probably start again with clowns in the observation tank (maybe with coral) and then look at adding a couple more directly to the DT while the clowns are under observation. I’m still thinking about a dwarf angel (flame or beauty) but they should be added last. I was also looking at blue or blue/green chromis, but again, probably more towards the end. Maybe the B. Cardinalfish…

  1. All good choices. Personally if I were going cardinal which I might actually do I would go 4-5 to make a pack, would also to that with chromis. Since they are natural schooling fish. So that may not be the best option for the first round of fish. If you go clowns I would go black and white. Just cuz they look badass! But I love my maroon but I fear by the day hes getting more aggressive. Angels from what I hear are ify with corals so be weary. As far as first coral, at least what I did was get a few zoanthid frags, they look awesome. And you can come opon some pretty cheaP frags, go most of mine for 5 bucks. Well anyways enough of my rant good luck keep me posted. Btw added a few pics to my thread check em out 🙂

    • For those of you reading Tahoe99’s link is here and it is really cool. What I love about this tank is that it is a great example of how a household sized tank (of course that’s a relative term that I’m sure reef keepers and their spouses routinely disagree on 🙂 ) can be a true work of art. Check out his mixed tank with a great stock of fish! It’s really an inspiration for me and I love browsing these pictures. Thanks Tahoe99!!!

  2. Great posts about schooling and actually I’ve been working on that very topic for a post write up soon. Some great tips from Coral Magazine. The thing I keep running into is that adding peaceful fish first means adding your typical schooling/shoaling fish (too much too fast). Adding fish most often single is adding aggressive/territorial fish before peaceful ones! Maybe a foxface 1 spot or a Tomini Tang? Or trying again with the goby, but I’d lime a fish that I’ll see sometimes, ya know 🙂

  3. THanks for the kind words!! I would say give the gobies another try I love my goby and blenny, they have a great personality and are awesome to watch. I feel that they are great fish to start off with.

Leave a comment